Mozart’s REQUIEM

24.03.2023 at 19.00
Venue: Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation
Location: Lissabon, Portugal
Artists: Gulbenkian Orchestra and Choir; soloists Raúl da Costa (Piano), Ilse Eerens (Soprano), Marianne Beate Kielland (Mezzo-Soprano), Thomas Erlank (Tenor), Marcos Fink (Bass)

The premiere of Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 20 in 1785 took place when the Austrian composer’s popularity in Vienna was at a high. Prolonged until the last moment, the work was only finished the day before it was due to be performed, which occurred to rapturous applause. As usual, Mozart himself played solo and conducted the orchestra from his piano. Risto Joost, a young maestro whose star has been rising in recent years, will conduct both the Gulbenkian Orchestra and pianist Raúl da Costa, pairing this work tonally with Requiem in D Minor, one of Mozart’s finest pieces.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Piano Concerto Nº. 20 in D minor, K. 466

— Intermission 20 min —

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Requiem, K. 626

Additional information: